Day One of the Beginning to Homeschool Adventure!

homeschool button

I’m really excited about this series! Each day I’m going to cover a different aspect of homeschooling- choosing curriculum, dealing with younger children while you’re teaching, different methods of arranging the school day, and the fun of learning alongside your children.

Today I’m going to introduce our family. My husband JE and I have three children. H is 5.5 years old and is beginning 1st grade. S is almost 4, and is in some sort of wonderful Preschool/Kindergarten stage. 🙂 We have told her she’s officially in Kindergarten now so she would feel like she was graduating to something special like her big sis. 😉 That’s a big deal to her. She also wants to keep up with big sis… if H is doing a handwriting practice sheet, she wants one too. I love it! Baby is 12 months, and although she is a very good baby and usually doesn’t give me too hard of a time, I have to plan my day carefully so she is in a good spot for school time. Nap time preferably. Or fed and happy in the walker. Or on my hip grabbing for the pencils. She tends to go straight for the pencils and computer mouse for some reason. 😛

We are in the midst of remodeling our home that we bought earlier this year. It was a foreclosure, and after some preliminary work to reclaim it from the bio-hazardous carpet and water damage, we were able to move in at the end of June. (Here‘s a post about that.) I am hoping for a kitchen sink to be installed before the end of this 31 day challenge. 🙂 As you can imagine, life is pretty crazy! But we are so very thankful for God’s provision! This whole housing adventure has made the homeschooling adventure a little more exciting than what I was planning, which is why we are just now starting our school year at the beginning of October. I’m not worried though. Mainly because H is only 5 1/2 years old. She didn’t even need to be registered as a homeschooler this year. So she’s ahead of the game in that sense. Anything we accomplish this year is great, although I am going to do the full time curriculum. Honestly, she’s ready. She’s reading on a 2nd grade level, and can write her letters mostly correct… occasionally there are some backwards letters that sneak in there. My children have all been born in Winter or late Fall, so I’m going to have to make the decision with each one to go ahead and start school “early” or wait until they are the correct age. My knee jerk reaction is “If the child is ready, green light! Not ready, proceed with caution.” 😉 H is definitely ready. So hopefully Mama is ready for this adventure as well… I don’t feel quite ready! Please join me as I explore this new part of motherhood!

 

Tomorrow I’m going to share how we came about choosing the curriculum we are using to start our homeschooling adventure!

5 thoughts on “Day One of the Beginning to Homeschool Adventure!

  1. Traci Matt says:

    What a great adventure lies ahead for your family! Looking forward to reading more as you go along.

    Like

  2. godmadeknown says:

    Looking forward to the rest of the series!

    Like

  3. […] Read the 1st day’s post here! […]

    Like

What are your thoughts?

